#1 airbreather

airbreather

Guard

• Developers
  • PipPip
  • 108 posts

Posted 31 August 2016 - 08:50 AM

Background:

STEP is a pretty complicated thing to set up and configure.  Well, I'm a software developer ("senior software developer", whatever that means to you guys... titles, yay!) working on a desktop application that's around the same level of complexity in terms of setting it up and configuring it.  It's at least in the same ballpark; it's hard to say which is more complicated.  Our current work is to improve the experience of setup and configuration.  I saw the correlation with STEP and wanted to poke my head in to see if I could help out, because I know there are some pretty painful parts of the STEP process that can be done better.

OK.  That's who I am and where I'm coming from.  Now I'm going to go on to list what I see as the main tasks that need to happen to set up STEP Core (not in the order they need to happen):

1. Install Skyrim Legendary Edition from Steam.
  2. Tweak Skyrim INI files.
  3. Set graphics driver settings.
  4. Download pre-packaged archive files from locations that are not friendly to unattended downloaders.
  5. Extract a subset of the contents of each archive file to directories in a well-defined directory structure (Mod Organizer's "mods" directory).
  6. Set up a Mod Organizer profile to order the mods in a particular way.
  7. Install other tools that don't sit in the virtual "Data" directory (SKSE, Mod Organizer, Wrye Bash, LOOT, TES5Edit) (I might have missed some more because it's been a while).
  8. Run TES5Edit through Mod Organizer and perform various script tasks (cleaning, DynDOLOD, other???).
  9. Run Wrye Bash and create a Bashed Patch.
  10. Run LOOT to set up the load order.
  11. Run various other tasks provided by the mods themselves, usually via SkyProc.

Does that look about right?  Did I miss anything big?  If I missed something, that should be addressed first.