Huge FPS drop when exiting interior cell

DangerousB

Question

Hi,

So I'm really new to STEP and I'm having some trouble getting it working. So whenever I exit an interior cell (I've been testing in Riverwood by entering and exiting various buildings) my FPS drops to 1-2 and stays there. I normally play with 25-30 fps in villages and 50 when inside a building. I have task manager open on a different monitor and I never went above 20% CPU and I was below 4GB RAM the entire time as well.

My PC:

Windows 7 64 bit

Intel i7

Nvidia EVGA GeForce GTX 560 Ti with 310.70

12GB RAM

Skyrim Version 1.8.151.0.7

Could this be a problem with using STEP 2.2.0a with that version of skyrim? Should I just wait until the next version of STEP comes out?

7 answers to this question

Hey DangerousB!

You said you normally play with 25-30 fps. Was this without STEP and if so have you installed any mods before installing the STEP mods? This doesn't sound like a STEP problem. and unless you have the fps capped at 30, with that PC you should be able to play at 40 to 60 with no problem. Can you be more specific about any utilities your using and did you follow the STEP instuction carefully? Load order is critical.

Right sorry. Thats the FPS I get just wandering around the Riverwood area. Before I installed STEP I was getting 50fps constantly. As for utilities I use Mod Organizer, BOSS, Fraps, and the Nvidia Inspector. I am running Boss as an executable through MO. I installed the mods in the order that STEP called for though I fear I may have went a bit overboard and might be using too many. =( I wasn't getting this problem until the end of STEP (I tested every so often).

As for non-STEP mods I have:

Sexy Whiterun (and all the other sexy cities by the same author)

Alternate Start: Live another Life

Claralux to replace Lanterns of Skyrim

Realistic Lighting with Customization to replace Climates of Tamriel