Old MO profiles keep coming back

dasmotiu

Question

I have been using MO with Skyrim for three years with complete satisfaction and delight, and have over 800 hours logged.

Recently after trying Enderal, I decided to go back, deleted Skyrim in Steam and reinstalled from scratch. I kept my MO profile intact. When I restarted, Skyrim worked correctly, but SkyUI would not work. Its menus did not appear, all I got was the original console UI.

So I decided to be more radical.  I moved my ENTIRE C:/Games folder, including Steam and MO, to a USB drive. I also moved C:/…./MyDocuments/MyGames/Skyrim, containing all the saved games, ini files etc. I then reinstalled Steam, then Skyrim, SKSE and MO from scratch.

I started a new game. After the intro on the way to Riverwood I saved and exited. I re-downloaded and installed about one third of the 74 mods I had previously been using, including SkyUI, and adding two new follower mods, a total of 23. I used the “Default†profile.

SkyUI and other mods worked, but I had no chance to check out all of them. I went through the Riverwood scenario, etc, got the Bleak Falls Barrow quest, set off to Whiterun, encountered the Giant/Companions, got up to the gate of Whiterun and there it hung.

I restarted and was surprised to see the “this save relies on content that is no longer present†message. I saw that all my old MO profiles were back, referring to the 74 mods from the old config, in a form I have not used for about 9 months or more, and which now theoretically only existed on an offline USB drive. There was no sign of the new profile or the new follower mods anywhere. One consolation is that the C:/Games/ModOrganizer/Mods folder still contains only my 23 newly installed mods, but MO’s profiles seem to have reached back to something that was deleted.

Can anyone explain this?  Where else are these profiles stored? What happened to my new clean profile?

2 answers to this question