Jump to content


Photo

Tools can't see mods, MO isn't "hooking".


Best Answer Rebitaay , 02 March 2018 - 05:58 PM

To anyone coming here to find a fix for the issue:

 

I believe the issue came from screwed up Windows 10 permissions. I had messed with them a few months prior and I must have messed something up and just now had repercussions.

I ended up re-fomatting my drive because upon attempting to correct the permissions to fix the issue, things started breaking, like my Start Menu and Taskbar.

 

After re-formatting (the first time), I tried to modify my user account to not require a password on login. It broke the Start Menu and the Taskbar...

After the second re-format, I didn't even think about touching permissions or user accounts. Everything is set up and nearly identical, and everything works perfectly.

 

So lesson learned: Don't mess with Windows Permissions, don't use CMD commands such as TakeOwn and ICACLS, and don't modify your user accounts.

 

 

Just for the record I am on Windows 10 Home, Version 1709, OS Build 16299.248
Go to the full post


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Rebitaay

Rebitaay

    Prisoner

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 27 February 2018 - 07:55 PM

Hi all,

 

I've recently ran into trouble with my tools, specifically LOOT and SSEEdit. None of them can see my mods, but the game works fine.

I've been researching this issue for a day or two and from what I've learned, it seems that MO isn't "hooking".

 

Some info:

  • Steam, Skyrim SE, MO2, LOOT, and SSEEdit are outside of Program Files, in a folder called "@Programs".
  • Changed the instance to go inside the MO directory in "@Programs", the problem still occurred.
  • Skyrim has been run with its launcher once, and I can play it without any issues.
  • All tools are run through MO, of course.
  • I've re-installed all of the above programs, as well as their redistributables.
  • I've disabled and removed Windows 10 Game Bar.
  • AV is not blocking any of the programs or their files. With everything disabled, the problem still occurrs.
  • There are no "unblock" options on the DLLs.

INIs and Logs:

 

All USVFS logs are empty.

 

ModOrganizer.ini
mo_interface.log
LOOTDebugLog
CEFDebugLog

  • 0

#2 Rebitaay

Rebitaay

    Prisoner

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 27 February 2018 - 08:40 PM

Apologies, I added the wrong ModOrganizer.ini in the original post.

 

ModOrganizer.ini

  • 0

#3 GrantSP

GrantSP

    The antipodean

  • Super Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,333 posts

Posted 27 February 2018 - 09:23 PM

If there are any USVFS logs could you post the latest one please?



#4 Rebitaay

Rebitaay

    Prisoner

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 27 February 2018 - 09:34 PM

If there are any USVFS logs could you post the latest one please?

There are several, but they are 0KB and are blank.

 

 

abf20dca141275084d71dbcb6ed07d2c.png


  • 0

#5 GrantSP

GrantSP

    The antipodean

  • Super Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,333 posts

Posted 27 February 2018 - 09:37 PM

Has MO2, at any stage, been able to run correctly, ie. this a recent change? Or is this a brand new install and MO2 just refuses to work for you?



#6 Rebitaay

Rebitaay

    Prisoner

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 27 February 2018 - 09:41 PM

Has MO2, at any stage, been able to run correctly, ie. this a recent change?

Not a recent install, and it worked well previously. I started about two weeks ago. LOOT used to work properly, SSEEdit never worked. Not exactly sure what changed it.

I stopped using LOOT after cleaning my DLC (couldn't clean mods anyways, SSEEdit didn't load em) and just used MO's "Sort" button, so I don't know exactly when it stopped working, but within the past 2 days.

I think they may have stopped working at the same time since SSEEdit couldn't see my mods, and I didn't know that LOOT broke since I stopped using it.


Edited by Rebitaay, 27 February 2018 - 09:42 PM.

  • 0

#7 GrantSP

GrantSP

    The antipodean

  • Super Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,333 posts

Posted 27 February 2018 - 09:44 PM

What about trying a different naming scheme for your system. Instead of @Programs try something else. Not saying that is the issue, it shouldn't be, but stranger things have been none to work.



#8 Rebitaay

Rebitaay

    Prisoner

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 27 February 2018 - 09:54 PM

Instead of @Programs try something else.

Changed it to "Games" and also tried re-making the "@Programs" folder, no difference. LOOT and SSEEdit run fine but still fail to load anything but DLC.

 

As a side note, SSEEdit is taking the plugins list among other things from my game files, not MO's stuff.

 

Using plugin list: C:\Users\Levi\AppData\Local\Skyrim Special Edition\Plugins.txt
Using settings file: C:\Users\Levi\AppData\Local\Skyrim Special Edition\Plugins.sseviewsettings
Loading active plugin list: C:\Users\Levi\AppData\Local\Skyrim Special Edition\Plugins.txt

  • 0

#9 GrantSP

GrantSP

    The antipodean

  • Super Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,333 posts

Posted 27 February 2018 - 09:58 PM

Did you at any time try to make a new "instance" or configure MO2 for another game?

If you did it may be that the SSE instance is now trying to look in the incorrect place for the tools and game files. But looking at your logs again it doesn't look like that.

 

Can you install a brand new copy of MO2 and set that up to see if it works. This makes no sense that there are no USVFS logs or the general failure of MO2.



#10 Rebitaay

Rebitaay

    Prisoner

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 27 February 2018 - 10:07 PM

I have created a new "test" instance before, but that was after the issue came up, to see if that could fix it.

It has since been deleted, I confirmed that I'm still using my real SkyrimSE instance.

 

I just deleted all files (except for my Instance folder) and re-downloaded MO2, still doesn't work.


  • 0

#11 GrantSP

GrantSP

    The antipodean

  • Super Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,333 posts

Posted 28 February 2018 - 04:26 PM

Go to the MO2 Discord server and in the #builds channel grab the latest build and install that and then re-check this. 



#12 Rebitaay

Rebitaay

    Prisoner

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 28 February 2018 - 05:01 PM

Did a clean install of Mod Oranizer and all tools, used a new folder at the root of C:\, and a new instance just for testing. Still no change, unfortunately.

 

Edit: For clarification, this was the dev build I just tried.


Edited by Rebitaay, 28 February 2018 - 05:08 PM.

  • 0

#13 Rebitaay

Rebitaay

    Prisoner

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 02 March 2018 - 05:58 PM   Best Answer

To anyone coming here to find a fix for the issue:

 

I believe the issue came from screwed up Windows 10 permissions. I had messed with them a few months prior and I must have messed something up and just now had repercussions.

I ended up re-fomatting my drive because upon attempting to correct the permissions to fix the issue, things started breaking, like my Start Menu and Taskbar.

 

After re-formatting (the first time), I tried to modify my user account to not require a password on login. It broke the Start Menu and the Taskbar...

After the second re-format, I didn't even think about touching permissions or user accounts. Everything is set up and nearly identical, and everything works perfectly.

 

So lesson learned: Don't mess with Windows Permissions, don't use CMD commands such as TakeOwn and ICACLS, and don't modify your user accounts.

 

 

Just for the record I am on Windows 10 Home, Version 1709, OS Build 16299.248

  • 0

#14 Greg

Greg

    Dragonborn

  • Super Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,688 posts

Posted 02 March 2018 - 08:40 PM

Using ICACLS without a very deep understanding of the permissions structure and inheritance hierarchy can quickly turn a simple problem into a nightmare. The best thing to do is forgot you know anything about ICACLS and never touch it again.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users