Torture Rack HD

DCS78

It would be helpful if you also showed a screenshot with the vanilla rack so we can compare.

Thanks

I'll look into making screenshots as soon as I can get back to the game. Unless someone beats me to it, that is.

• 2 weeks later...
  • 3 weeks later...

This is my first post, so my opinion doesn't count for very much. I just joined today because I found STEP a few days ago and have been preparing to install and setup Skyrim for 2.2.5. I'm a freelance graphic designer.

Anyway, I felt the need to comment on these "Mystery Modder" mods. I saw a comment in another thread here in MS that suggested the Mystery Modder is just upscaling and sharpening the default textures, therefore not really adding any detail. I have to agree 100%. I've downloaded and tested several of the Mystery Modder's offerings, and I have to say, they do look very much like simple resized and sharpened (and in some cases, with other filters applied) versions of the original. yet, he/she marks a lot of them as "HD" in the title.

To me that's dishonest, and the upscaled textures aren't that much greater than the originals. A true HD texture is usually DOWNsized from a much larger original. The sharpening effect *can* improve resized smaller textures a bit, but to the trained eye, they sort of stand out like a sore thumb. I know that the average layperson might not even notice, but as a graphic designer, I deal in pixels all the time, and I know what a resized and overly sharpened image looks like.

I feel so strongly about this that I actually commented on one of Mystery Modder's mods on the nexus, although I can't remember which one. I'm "Ultimist" on all the nexus sites as well.

Anyway, that's my 2 cents. I'll give the same advice I saw in another thread. It might be wise to steer clear of this Mystery Modder for now, as their work isn't that great, and nowhere near some of the stellar texture replacements we've all seen.

• +1 1