Jump to content


Photo

Skyrim Script Extender (by Parrerson, Abel & Connelly)


  • Please log in to reply
148 replies to this topic

#136 Greg

Greg

    Dragonborn

  • Super Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,340 posts

Posted 07 February 2016 - 03:41 PM

I don't know what can be done to resolve this issue if you are experiencing lags on auto and quick saves (other than disabling auto saves and not using quick saves). I was experiencing lags of 15 to 20 seconds using a STEP 2.2.9.2 Extended setup with vanilla ugridstoload. The only difference between my setup and standard STEP 2.2.9.2 Extended is that I had installed XPMSE instead of XPMS and I'm using the higher resolution meshes and textures.

 

One point that is noteworthy is that Neovalen has never experienced these lags and his setup is way more complex than STEP Extended. I know he use the higher resolution meshes and textures as well.

 

I plan to revisit this at some point in the future, but I haven't had time to get back around to it yet.



#137 Nebulous112

Nebulous112

    Dragonborn

  • Super Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,291 posts

Posted 07 February 2016 - 04:06 PM

When reading through SR:LE, I noticed Neo recommends turning off autosaves from the start.

http://wiki.step-pro...onfigure_Skyrim

Neo also recommends to completely exit the game if the character dies, and then load the last save. It seems the automatic load is buggy.

http://wiki.step-pro...ry_Edition#Tips

I've read conflicting information regarding autosaves and quicksaves. Many people on /r/SkyrimMods think there is nothing wrong with them, for instance. But everyone seems to agree on the second point.

However, if Neo has never experienced the issue and others are, I think it's possible one of these behaviours may be to blame. I'm going the safe route, and have disabled autosave. I have religiously exited the game after death since I read about that issue, as well.

#138 Rebel47

Rebel47

    Guard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 180 posts

Posted 07 February 2016 - 04:48 PM

I have never exited the game if I died, because I'm a forward thinker and usually if it looks like I'm about to die I reload my save which is usually just outside the area I'm in, consequently while I'm posting in the SKSE topic, does anybody know if there is an upper limit to the size of the iTintTextureResolution, or at the very least at which point it stops being high res and starts being pixelated because you've raised the numbers too high.


  • 0

#139 DoubleYou

DoubleYou

    Wiki Stepper

  • STEP Staff
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,463 posts

Posted 07 February 2016 - 09:54 PM

Well, disabling autosaves causes some graphical glitches in Skyrim, weirdly. IIRC, check the DynDoLOD thread for details.

#140 Greg

Greg

    Dragonborn

  • Super Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,340 posts

Posted 07 February 2016 - 11:19 PM

This message seems to be a good starting point for the discussion.



#141 Nebulous112

Nebulous112

    Dragonborn

  • Super Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,291 posts

Posted 07 February 2016 - 11:27 PM

Thanks DY, and Greg for the link. Very interesting. Well, if disabling autosaves causes graphical glitches, I will not disable them then. I just won't load from them, lol.

Thanks again guys, that is the first I have ever heard of the issue.

#142 GrantSP

GrantSP

    The antipodean

  • Super Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,605 posts

Posted 08 February 2016 - 12:25 AM

The trick now is to find a good location that makes sense for everybody and have that information shown.



#143 Greg

Greg

    Dragonborn

  • Super Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,340 posts

Posted 08 February 2016 - 04:58 PM

@GrantSP: You mean to demonstrate the graphical glitches with auto save disabled?



#144 GrantSP

GrantSP

    The antipodean

  • Super Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,605 posts

Posted 08 February 2016 - 05:52 PM

@GrantSP: You mean to demonstrate the graphical glitches with auto save disabled?

Yep.



#145 nomaddc

nomaddc

    Prisoner

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 09 February 2016 - 03:54 AM

Hmm, I will keep looking and try to root it out.

 

What about deleting .skse save component? As I described it's entirely possible and seems to not break my game AND fix the issue. Did anyone try that? I'm more worried about delayed consequences (which may or may not appear).

 

 

P.S.: Regarding quick and auto saves - I've always been using them and never had any issues with that until now. But now I kinda have issues with all kinds of saves, save normal saves but only because of how normal saves work (they don't overwrite normally on top of themselves). Also I always used quicks for troubleshooting, cleaning, shutting down mods, adding mods, etc. and it never led to any kind of issues I couldn't resolve.


Edited by nomaddc, 09 February 2016 - 03:57 AM.

  • 0

#146 aba42

aba42

    Thane

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 143 posts

Posted 16 February 2016 - 12:02 PM

I think I have a problem, but I cannot figure it out.  Related to SKSE.ini location!  In the SKSE.log for my most recent attempt to start Skyrim, it states:

 

config path = D:\Steam\steamapps\common\Skyrim\Data\SKSE\skse.ini

 

However, there is NO skse.ini in that location!  The SKSE.ini file is under D:\Steam\steamapps\common\Skyrim\Mods\Skyrim Script Extender\SKSE\skse.ini.

 

My first question is, how do I make sure that skse_loader.exe is using the correct SKSE.ini to start the game?

 

My second question is, why does Skyrim load, menu opens, select "Continue" continues loading, then I hear music, I hear Skyrim, I have NO VIDEO!  When I finally do a 3-finger salute, Task Manager says Skyrim Not Responding.  This started two days ago.  I had not added a THING to Skyrim.  There were new nVidia drivers installed, and that's when it started.  So, I rolled the drivers back to the previous version, and still, no video.  Can someone point me in the correct direction to resolve THIS issue, too, please?

 

Thanks, Allen


  • 0

#147 aba42

aba42

    Thane

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 143 posts

Posted 16 February 2016 - 12:10 PM

P.S.  skse_loader.log shows the same config path


  • 0

#148 aba42

aba42

    Thane

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 143 posts

Posted 16 February 2016 - 12:42 PM

One final thing.  I'm using Mod Organizer, with a specific profile.  So I would THiNK that SKSE would grab the correct skse.ini file...it's just that, not only do the logs appear as if SKSE is NOT doing so, the logs report an incorrect heap size, compared against the one I've got in the skse.ini file.  Thanks, again.  Allen


  • 0

#149 GrantSP

GrantSP

    The antipodean

  • Super Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,605 posts

Posted 16 February 2016 - 05:44 PM

There's nothing to worry about with the SKSE INI file. MO "tricks" all the executables that are run from inside it, to believe they are running from the default locations, so if SKSE is logging that it is running from

D:\Steam\steamapps\common\Skyrim\Data\SKSE

then that is what you want. As to your "incorrect heap size", that too is fine. If you have 712 as the first heap, the logs will only show upto the next lowest level: 512. Odd I know but that's how that tool works.

 

Not sure about your ILS issue, there are numerous reasons why these happen and there is a dedicated thread here that examines those, CTDs and other memory related issues. 




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users