Tool for monitoring internet access by programs?

torminater

Hey guys,

currently I'm having doubts whether or whether not I have a virus on my laptop. I'm therefore looking for a tool which monitors and protocolls (very important!) which program accesses at what speed at what time the internet and what priority it has. I've been looking on the internet but most of the tools I found where either for company networks (see what your employees do instead of working) or abandoned.

I would need something compatible with win 7 64-bit and if possible freeware, since I'm a student with high living expenses and not much positive cash flow unfortunately. ;-)

Anybody some suggestions?

yeah i was thinking about it. but i am kind of overcautious when it comes to free firewall software. any specific suggestions as to which firewalls are doing their jobs better than the original windows firewall from win 7 home 64-bit?

I think the combination of:

1. Firewall that comes with your internet router

2. Windows default firewall (well-configured)

3. One or two anti-malware software such as Microsoft Security Essentials AND maybe Emsisoft - Free version OR Avast

(4.) and maybe SpyBot Search&Destroy for additional protection should be more than enough

BUT if you want more advanced security, I still wouldn't go as far as buying a commercial firewall software YET [because you already mentioned you are a student with marginal cash-flow]. So maybe you should try free firewall software such as:

- ZoneAlarm

- or Comodo.

They are free firewall and anti-malware softwares. I haven't used them since I installed Windows 7, but I was satisfied with ZoneAlarm while I had XP on. Of course there is no right or wrong security software as every person has his own preferences and opinions, so some may agree with me on these sugestions and some may not.