Making a poll

Crimson13

Question

Admittedly this would be my first poll of any forum so I'm new to the thing anyway. But anyway, could anyone here tell me how to make a poll? I've looked all over in the 'Making a new topic' page and I can't find anything related to polls. I wanted to make one as a conversation piece, nothing serious or the like, and I think making a poll would be a bit easier for choices.

Are you talking about the Post Options box? Because for me there's only "Enable emoticons? Enable signature? Follow this topic?" as choices. Nor do I see anything in the toolbar. Making polls wouldn't be tried to post count would it?

It should be there, I can try it on a new account to see if it is a permissions thing. Here's what I'm seeing (when creating a new topic), minus the super secret ninja tools. The option for poll is right above the enable emoticons and signature for this post boxes to the right. Underneath my username and sign out buttons.

Posted Image

Yes, I was thinking the same, but just have not gotten around to thinking much about implementation. I'll look into it at some point and announce if this becomes an option. One potential problem is that members could start making mod (or other) polls in forums they are allowed to post polls in, and that would be a real mess, because it would draw info that should exist in other locations.

I guess I am against public-deployed polls in general, and we generally dislike even admin polls. That is why you don't really see too many. Polls can create unnecessary controversy, and there is an 'art' to conducting polls without bias. Poll creators tend to stack the deck to favor their own preference or polls that don't really get at a clear answer. (validity and reliability are the main issues).

I write questionnaires and interpret responses for a living, so this is an area that I have lots of experience with.