MO issues - Error Deleting File or Folder

DukeOfCornwall

Question

Hi all. I'm new to Skyrim and new to this forum.

While installing Skyrim I came across MO and loved the concept.

When I played Oblivion I installed mods manually & via OMM so appreciate the advance MO represents.

My MO problems? Several -

A) I get the following (Windows?) error when I do almost anything:

> Error Deleting File or Folder> Cannot delete file: Cannot read from the source file or disk

B) When I close MO I get the following additional two errors:

> Error Renaming File or Folder> Cannot rename ModOrganizer.ini: A file with the name you specified already exists. Specify a different name.> MO Failed to write settings> An error occured trying to write back MO settings: The file name is too long. (errorcode 111)

C) When I try to use my Skyrim shortcut I get:

> MO Error> failed to start application: No profile set

Some background info:

1. I run Windows XP - SP3 (*brush off cobwebs*) :blush: At least it doesn't have access rights issues!

2. I have Skyrim Legendary Edition on DVD. I installed and updated this first.

3. A website (STEP?) advised that I create/ modify some ini files to help with Skyrim stability. I believe I did this before running the game or MO.

4. I then downloaded and installed MO. All was working fine - no error messages.

5. I had trouble downloading and installing mods from Nexus via MO, even with NMM version set to 0.52.0

6. I downloded the mods I wanted manually and used MO to install them from archive.

7. MO detected SKSE so I used it to create a shortcut and used that to launch Skyrim.

8. Without starting a new game I used console to enter GetSKSEVersion. I discovered SKSE was not running. My first problem!

8. Something I read (sry - memory failure) implied I ought to install .NET Framework 4.5. Foolishly I started to d/load this but it failed - it does not support XP.