Jump to content


Photo

UIO and Mod Organizer


  • Please log in to reply
53 replies to this topic

#16 GrantSP

GrantSP

    The antipodean

  • Super Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,838 posts

Posted 19 October 2014 - 08:44 PM

Ok, with the exception of FOOK (I'll look at that installation after playing FalloutNV for a while), everything is installed and working as you would expect.

The only changes I made to the above installation steps are:

 

  • Instead or oHUD I have the three original mods. (I'll need to look into this more as I still have two more plugins in my load than I need.)
  • After everything was done I needed to re-install DarnUI to fix the "Not in the start menu" problem.

I take it the empty menu folders generated in the overwrite folder after each start are from UIO? 



#17 GSDFan

GSDFan

    Jarl

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 831 posts

Posted 19 October 2014 - 10:29 PM

After everything was done I needed to re-install DarnUI to fix the "Not in the start menu" problem.

I had to do that more than a few times.

 

 

I take it the empty menu folders generated in the overwrite folder after each start are from UIO? 

Yes, those are left over when the game closes. When the game is running they contain the inventory_menu.xml.uio in the menus folder, start_menu.xml.uio in the options folder and tutorial_menu.xml.uio in the menus folder.



#18 EssArrBee

EssArrBee

    Incompatibilism Manager

  • STEP Staff
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,721 posts

Posted 19 October 2014 - 11:47 PM

If you crash while playing those folders aren't always empty. Sometimes they just stick around. I don't think there is any harm in them so just leave it be.



#19 icapricorn

icapricorn

    Prisoner

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 22 October 2014 - 06:21 PM

Thank you, GSDFan, your guide to installing UIO, the sequence of mods, the resetting of FOMM solved a world of problems.   And thanks to EssAreBee for keeping up his by now legendary S.T.E.P page on Fallout New Vegas


Edited by icapricorn, 22 October 2014 - 06:22 PM.

  • 0

#20 GSDFan

GSDFan

    Jarl

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 831 posts

Posted 23 October 2014 - 06:17 AM

@icapricorn

Thanks, I am glad it helped.

 

@GrantSP

Do you use the 4GB launcher with -laaexe .FalloutNVMO.exe argument?



#21 GrantSP

GrantSP

    The antipodean

  • Super Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,838 posts

Posted 23 October 2014 - 06:35 PM

@GSDFan

 

No. I was trying to get the 4Gb fix to work but whenever I tried to add a NVSE plugin mod to my load order the MO launcher would fail and give me an error message: "There is already an instance of Fallout:New Vegas running.".

I've just reverted to the default Fallout exe, for the time being.

 

The truth is I am only partly getting into setting up FalloutNV, Skyrim is still taking priority. After spending a few years playing and modding Civ V I wanted a break from that and just recently purchased both Skyrim & FalloutNV as a sort of sabbatical from 'turn-based strategies'. Glad I did, All the Bethesda games are looking really good on my computer. I last played Oblivion on my other game system and it struggled. Now everything looks fantastic. That's all beside the point though, sorry, got sidetracked.  ::D:



#22 GSDFan

GSDFan

    Jarl

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 831 posts

Posted 23 October 2014 - 06:56 PM

No problem. I recently found that if I add the path to my Fallout folder to the Windows "Path" in the environment variables section of the advanced settings, I no longer need to have the argument in the launcher. The 4GB runs as intended.

 

I am just wondering if having Steam, the game and MO outside of the Program File (x86) is influencing things in some strange way. Adding the NV folder path would suggest it is.



#23 GrantSP

GrantSP

    The antipodean

  • Super Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,838 posts

Posted 23 October 2014 - 07:01 PM

Curious. So you have no issues with the 4Gb patch and NVSE plugins?

Do you mind pasting here what your executable configs are? ie. where Steam, FalloutNV, MO and the MO executable for FNV4Gb.

 

I just tried again and it is only when I run it via MO that the 4Gb patch throws the error.



#24 GSDFan

GSDFan

    Jarl

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 831 posts

Posted 23 October 2014 - 08:42 PM

No, I played a couple of hours testing TTW setup. No problems to speak of.

Steam is installed on an HDD, My E drive. E:Steam

Fallout NV is installed on an SSD, My D drive. D:SteamSteamAppscommonFallout New Vegas. Skyrim and fo3GOTY are also installed here.

MO is installed in each of the games folders, D:SteamSteamAppscommonFallout New VegasModOrganizer.

 

The 4Gb launcher is installed in the Fallout new vegas folder, D:SteamSteamAppscommonFallout New Vegasfnv4gb.exe. There are no other entries in the Start in or the arguments boxes.

 

I deleted the FalloutnvMO.exe from the Fallout New Vegas folder and also the FalloutNV.exe from the exes folder. The modified FalloutNV.exe gets recreated in the exes folder when launched from 4GB with the FNV path is added to the windows Path statement.



#25 GrantSP

GrantSP

    The antipodean

  • Super Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,838 posts

Posted 23 October 2014 - 11:28 PM

hmm... now I'm confused.

 

I removed the arguments "-laaexe .FalloutMO.exe" from the executables dialog and now it runs just fine. My confusion though stems from the belief that that argument needed to be there to enable the Large Address Aware flag for FalloutNV.

Is that not the case?

If it isn't needed then why is there provision to add that as an argument?

Not that the game is struggling at the moment but isn't it now just the same as running the vanilla exe?

 

It was so much simpler when I could just patch the exe and be done with it. Ah well, Steam is a valuable tool I guess and they need to keep check on who's doing what to their code in game.



#26 GSDFan

GSDFan

    Jarl

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 831 posts

Posted 24 October 2014 - 04:59 AM

That was a workaround, because at the time we were getting an access denied message and no root cause could be determined. Renaming it allowed it to be written to the root folder, you can't have two files with the same name in a folder. I guess the path statement was it. The FalloutNV.exe being written to the exes folder is the modified one.



#27 EssArrBee

EssArrBee

    Incompatibilism Manager

  • STEP Staff
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,721 posts

Posted 26 October 2014 - 12:33 PM

UIO just updated. I don't think it affects the install instructions, but DarnUI require INI edits anymore. I think UIO does it for you. Noice!!!



#28 GSDFan

GSDFan

    Jarl

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 831 posts

Posted 26 October 2014 - 01:55 PM

Thanks, I just tried it out. I have a problem with the pip boy items menu. It looks like all of the selections on the bottom are on top of each other in the lower left corner. Anyone else see that?

 

EDIT: This looks to be like a conflict between mods on my already working UI install. i will need to rebuild from scratch to test.



#29 rpsgc

rpsgc

    Obsessive Sheath Lover

  • Mod Authors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 634 posts

Posted 28 October 2014 - 11:54 AM

Thanks, I just tried it out. I have a problem with the pip boy items menu. It looks like all of the selections on the bottom are on top of each other in the lower left corner. Anyone else see that?

 

EDIT: This looks to be like a conflict between mods on my already working UI install. i will need to rebuild from scratch to test.

You mean like this?

http://i.imgur.com/aR9Y29o.jpg


  • 0

#30 EssArrBee

EssArrBee

    Incompatibilism Manager

  • STEP Staff
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,721 posts

Posted 28 October 2014 - 11:57 AM

Exactly like that.


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users