Jump to content


Photo

Common CTDs, Freezes, ILS and memory issues


  • Please log in to reply
183 replies to this topic

#1 hishutup

hishutup

    Daedric Prince

  • Super Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,567 posts

Posted 29 December 2014 - 06:51 PM

*
POPULAR

 

This is the easiest solution to the memory issue.

 

Install this manually into the "Skyrim" folder(with the TESV.exe)

SKSE Plugin Preloader

Install this manually by moving the SKSE folder into the "Skyrim\Data\" folder

Crash fixes

 

Then open the "Skyrim\Data\SKSE\Plugins\CrashFixPlugin.ini"

Modify the "UseOSAllocators=0" to "UseOSAllocators=1"

Save.

 

You should be good now.

 

I'd recommend removing the old methods of heap modification, ENBoost is fine.

 

Old Post



#2 GACostermans

GACostermans

    Prisoner

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 05 January 2015 - 03:33 PM

Hey,

 

I just wanted to let you know that I've literally been searching for days to find the cause of my random CTD's and freezes during playthrough. I've installed and reinstalled STEP Core and Extended multiple times. Made countless test runs and put over a hundred hours into find the most stable modded Skyrim experience. Every time, my game became a bit more stable, but then I ran into a lot of seemingly random CTD's and freezes.

 

Using the log mentioned above, I found out that the memory patch wasn't loading properly for my game. My first mem block consisted of 256mb instead of 512. I'm a Mod Organizer user, so I found out adding -forcesteamloader to the SKSE didn't have the desired effect, but placing the SKSE.ini file into the regular game folder (C:/Program Files (x86)/Steam/steamapps/common/Data/SKSE) AND adding -forcesteamloader to the arguments of SKSE in MO, did have the desired effect.

 

I have STEP Extended installed (folllowed all the instructions to the letter), along with a few other mods, so I was at a loss as to how I could solve the issues. But no longer!

 

Thank you so much for this fix! Since using this fix (2 days ago), my freezes and CTD's have reduced by about 80%-90%, which means I can play for at least an hour without any problems. Thanks a bunch for posting this, hopefully other users facing the same issue as me can benefit from this!


  • 1

#3 singdavion

singdavion

    Citizen

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts

Posted 05 January 2015 - 08:20 PM

Question:

Why doesn't STEP have Safely Load as a core mod?


  • 0

#4 DoubleYou

DoubleYou

    Wiki Stepper

  • STEP Staff
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,463 posts

Posted 05 January 2015 - 08:51 PM

Safety Load isn't needed.



#5 Nozzer66

Nozzer66

    Dragon Lord

  • Pack Authors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,315 posts

Posted 05 January 2015 - 08:51 PM

Shouldn't be needed if you have the memory patch working correctly... And I'm not sure this is the correct thread to be asking in anyway.


  • 0

#6 hishutup

hishutup

    Daedric Prince

  • Super Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,567 posts

Posted 05 January 2015 - 09:00 PM

Safety load and the memory tweak can do some really crazy stuff.

 

GACostermans, that is very unusual and it may uncover that skse.ini being in MO instead of that data directory may cause issues but excellent find.



#7 GrantSP

GrantSP

    The antipodean

  • Super Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,705 posts

Posted 05 January 2015 - 09:02 PM

I think nozzer66 may have posted something similar about where skse.ini should be a few weeks back.



#8 Nozzer66

Nozzer66

    Dragon Lord

  • Pack Authors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,315 posts

Posted 12 January 2015 - 12:32 AM

Yep. I always have it in MO and have never had an issue. Never needed to use -forcesteamloader either.


  • 0

#9 Libertron

Libertron

    Citizen

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts

Posted 12 January 2015 - 12:41 AM

Safety load and the memory tweak can do some really crazy stuff.

Which should I remove? Is Safety Load necessery anymore?

 

Also the forcesteam did not work. Only the Lazy Users download seems to work for now. Which is fine with me, it simply added one more mod to my list. http://www.nexusmods...?id=51038&pUp=1


  • 0

#10 hishutup

hishutup

    Daedric Prince

  • Super Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,567 posts

Posted 12 January 2015 - 12:53 AM

you probably have "Hide extensions" for known file types enabled in the Windows Folder Options.

 

If it is enabled then you may edit the "skse" file may appear as "skse.ini" but because the extensions are hidden the files remains as "skse.ini.txt"

 

867lrU9.png



#11 GrantSP

GrantSP

    The antipodean

  • Super Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,705 posts

Posted 12 January 2015 - 01:26 AM

Which should I remove? Is Safety Load necessery anymore?

 

Also the forcesteam did not work. Only the Lazy Users download seems to work for now. Which is fine with me, it simply added one more mod to my list. http://www.nexusmods...?id=51038&pUp=1

I believe the consensus is to use Sheson's Memory Block Log alongside the CTD and Memory Patch instead of Safety Load.

You could always read the thread here about Safety Load and see where you experience falls compared to everyone else? Some swear by it, others say it isn't needed, others say it causes other problems. YMMV



#12 phazer11

phazer11

    Chatroom Supervisor

  • Super Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,256 posts

Posted 12 January 2015 - 02:02 AM

I'd say remove safety load.



#13 keithinhanoi

keithinhanoi

    Jarl

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 569 posts

Posted 12 January 2015 - 03:38 AM

As a disclaimer, I am not a programmer by trade, but I've looked at the Safety Load source code, and discussed it with several people who are knowledgeable in C, and what safety load tries to do is address the ILS (infinite loading screen) problem of Skyrim, which is just one aspect of what the Sheson memory patch fix takes care of.

 

Safety Load is quite different from the Sheson memory patch fix in that it hijacks Skyrim's routine to automatically increase the heap cache memory allocation if it happens during a loading screen. When I say "hijack", I mean that it uses a sort of "brute force" method to insert itself into Skyrim's code to take over that memory allocation routine.

 

My personal experience is that although it does work most of the time, in some cases it caused severe visual corruption to the flash-based graphic of the SkyUI mod. Even scarier is that the corruption was "baked" into subsequent game saves. The author did try to address this issue, but there was no guarantee that it was completely resolved.

 

The Sheson patch method is far less invasive, because for its central feature, it literally just changes one byte (if you only change the block 1 allocation) before Skyrim even starts executing code, and that byte is just used to set the initial size of the "Block 1" heap cache allocation.

 

Long story short, Sheson's memory patch supersedes Safety Load, because it addresses the problem both when it happens during a loading screen, and also when it happens while moving across exterior cell borders.

 

Purely based on my direct experience with the SkUI, I sadly cannot recommend using Safety Load. And, really, it's not adding any more stability. I myself hardly ever experience ILS, and I use Sheson's fix and ENBoost, without Safety Load.

 

Keep in mind that there are other reasons that ILS can occur, related to troubles loading texture / 3D geometry data. Also, from everything I've read people reporting, certain combinations of settings in ENBoost and mod load out can lead to loading screens taking much longer than expected, and I think a lot of people get impatient and assume it was an ILS instead of a TMLS (two minute loading screen :lol: ).


  • 2

#14 tschilpi

tschilpi

    Citizen

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 47 posts

Posted 12 January 2015 - 01:52 PM

I did like you described some weeks ago and also noticed that my memory patch wasn't working properly. I was experiencing freezes, ILS with a save and some CTDs.

It came out that the only faulty thing was that my SKSE.ini was not a .ini but instead a SKSE.ini.txt file. Stupid Windows and their default option of not showing the whole data extension. :ermm:

After I fixed that, it worked like intended and now my ILS and CTDs are all gone. Haven't experienced one since then. Incredible!


Edited by tschilpi, 12 January 2015 - 01:52 PM.

  • 0

#15 Libertron

Libertron

    Citizen

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts

Posted 12 January 2015 - 02:25 PM

Do you guys know if running sheson's memory tweak along with HiAlgo GPU Boost will create a conflict? I couldn't instal HiAlgo with MO. Is it a d3d9.dll based Mod ? http://www.nexusmods...im/mods/15123/?

 

 

As a disclaimer, I am not a programmer by trade, but I've looked at the Safety Load source code ...

Aweseom explanation! thanks for the detailed reply, it makes things much clearer.

 

you probably have "Hide extensions" for known file types enabled in the Windows Folder Options...

 

No, I made sure I deleted the .txt part. It has the ini gear symbol too.


  • 0


1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users