Jump to content


Photo

[ Q & A ] Using FNIS with Mod Organizer

fnis setup issues installation

  • Please log in to reply
283 replies to this topic

#1 GrantSP

GrantSP

    The antipodean

  • Super Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,946 posts

Posted 22 July 2015 - 07:54 PM

This topic is specifically for FNIS related issues when using Mod Organizer.

 

--

EDIT: 17th April 2016.

Due to @fore's "issues" with MO he has pulled all support and directed it here.

 

Let it be stated that the "issues" he notes are due to user error and there is no inherent issue with FNIS running in MO.

 

Further his claim that FNIS WILL NOT run through MO on Windows 10 machines is just wrong! DO NOT follow the advice he offers regarding using FNIS and MO.

--

 

Setting up FNIS to run through MO

 

Install it like any other mod through MO and make sure it is active (checkmarked) in the left pane mod list.

 

Since you must launch FNIS through Mod Organizer in order for it to recognize your mods, add FNIS to the list of executables by doing the following:

  1. Click the gears icon Gear_MO.png.
  2. In the Title field, type FNIS.
  3. For the Binary field, browse to your FNIS installation (should be located in <ModOrganizer>/mods/Fores New Idles in Skyrim - FNIS/tools/GenerateFNIS_for_Users) and select the GenerateFNISforUsers.exe application.
  4. Click the Add button. This will add FNIS to your executables list.
  5. Click OK.

Now each time you want to run FNIS, simply select it from the drop-down menu at top right and click Run.

 

Running through MO

  1. Launch FNIS through MO
  2. In the Available Patches at the bottom of the window, check the boxes for all necessary patches in your setup.
  3. Click the [Update FNIS Behavior] button and wait for a message to appear in the window stating "X animations for Y mods successfully included.".
  4. Click [Exit].

After closing FNIS, there will be files in Overwrite (essentially a fake mod located at the bottom of the left pane if sorted by priority ascending) created by FNIS. Right-click Overwrite and select Create Mod, name it FNIS Output and click OK. This will create a new mod listing in the left pane for the FNIS generated files. You will then need to check it to enable it. Each subsequent time you update FNIS behavior, you must open Overwrite and drag the new files back to this mod.

 

Common Errors

Error 53 or 2012

"Could not find file <path to file>\1hm_behavior.hkx

 

Ensure the animation sets you have installed are correctly placed in priority in the left-hand pane and FNIS is using the one you want. Open the Data tab in the right-hand pane and examine the filetree to see which animation is being used in the VFS.

Navigate the filetree by expanding: data>meshes>actors>character>behaviors> and see which mod is providing the file.

If the file name is displayed in red, the mouse tooltip will show which other mods are also providing this file. Move the correct mod to the correct location.

 

Additional cause for Error 2012

 

A user(@patchling) had Spybot - Search & Destroy+AV 2.5 installed and was constantly getting JIT and 2012 errors, specifically the 0_master.xml was not found. The file was placed in the FNIS temporary_log folder ready for processing but before that could happen it was removed by said program. Opening the start menu > settings > live protection > mode > uncheck "Scan programs before they start" apparently stops that behaviour.

 

*****

Error dialogue

GenerateFNISForUsers.exe - This application could not be started.

This application could not be started.

Do you want to view information about this issue?

 

Simply close the dialogue by pressing "No" and enable FNIS in the Left-hand pane. Correct FNIS installation and use explains this in the wiki.

 

Why does the 6.2 Add-on not look correct in MO?

What you need to remember here is MO is designed to handle 'mods' and what we are installing with FNIS, and its add-ons, are 'tools'.

This means MO is looking for the correct folder structure for a 'mod' as seen by the game. The archive for the 6.2 add-on has as its top folder: "tools" and this is correct for FNIS, not the game.

Simply 'set the data folder' so that the "tools" folder is now at the top of the tree and ignore the next dialogue that asks if you are sure.



#2 criswolf09

criswolf09

    Prisoner

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 03 August 2015 - 02:32 AM

Greetings, I have been experiencing a very annoying issue with FNIS and Moonlight Tales Werewolf and Werebear Essentials. My problem is that FNIS doesn't recognize the new animations for werewolves of this mod when launching it through MO. I use the STEP Core Setup as a primer for my own mod collection, and this issue happens with both the old 1.94 XP32 Maximum skeleton and the new XPMS Extended, of course I don't use the two skeleton mods at the same time. I even changed the MO directory to a new HDD.

 

Here's my FNIS log in case you want to see it: 

 

FNIS Behavior V5.5 03/08/2015 04:16:42 a.m.
Skyrim: 1.9.32.0 - C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\commom\Skyrim (Steam)

Skeleton(hkx) female: XPMS (242 bones) male: XPMS (242 bones)
Patch: "SKELETON Arm Fix" 

Reading FNISBase V5.5 ...
Reading FNISCreatureVersion V5.3 ...

All Anim Lists scanned. Generating Behavior Files....

Create Creature Behaviors ...

47 animations for 2 mods successfully included (character)


Edited by criswolf09, 03 August 2015 - 02:34 AM.

  • 0

#3 GrantSP

GrantSP

    The antipodean

  • Super Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,946 posts

Posted 03 August 2015 - 07:53 PM

I'm not sure this is actually an issue with using FNIS from inside MO. I have seen a few mentions of various animation packs that don't seem to be seen by FNIS, and I have personally experienced at least one example, but I believe this behaviour also is seen when FNIS is run outside MO.



#4 Nozzer66

Nozzer66

    Dragon Prince

  • Pack Authors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,480 posts

Posted 03 August 2015 - 10:49 PM

I'd be going to the FNIS page itself to ask that sort of query.


  • 0

#5 criswolf09

criswolf09

    Prisoner

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 04 August 2015 - 12:39 PM

I already did that, and Fore redirected me here. 


  • 0

#6 Nozzer66

Nozzer66

    Dragon Prince

  • Pack Authors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,480 posts

Posted 04 August 2015 - 04:42 PM

Do you have the FNIS Creature pack installed?

 

EDIT: Says you do.

 

The mod page sugegsts if that happens to redownload and reinstall FNIS and the Creature pack. have you tried that?


Edited by Nozzer66, 04 August 2015 - 05:04 PM.

  • 0

#7 criswolf09

criswolf09

    Prisoner

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 04 August 2015 - 05:09 PM

I've done that like 15 times with the same result.


  • 0

#8 Nozzer66

Nozzer66

    Dragon Prince

  • Pack Authors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,480 posts

Posted 04 August 2015 - 05:19 PM

Strange. And there's no other mods you're having any issue with?

 

You've redownloaded and reinstalled the mod itself?

 

The fact that the mod author mentions on the mod page that this may happen and how to fix it, without mentioning anything about Mod Organizer specifically suggests it's possibly not an MO issue itself.

 

Still, I'll mention the same thing I always do when I see someone with their Steam install inside Program Files (x86), see if you can move Steam out of a UAC directory. 


  • 0

#9 Greg

Greg

    High King

  • Super Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,485 posts

Posted 04 August 2015 - 07:03 PM

You've probably have already done this a dozen times, so I apologize if this is redundant.

 

Are you placing the Creature Pack just under FNIS Behavior in the left pane and have you verified nothing is overwriting anything in the FNIS Creature Pack?



#10 criswolf09

criswolf09

    Prisoner

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 04 August 2015 - 07:21 PM

Yes, the load order of FNIS follows the STEP guide:

FNIS Behaviour

FNIS Creature Pack

MT Werewolf Essentials

 

I also turned off UAC and moved my steam install with skyrim to a new HDD and the result is the same. I opted to not use this mod anymore and use the first version. I also use other mods which add interaction with creatures, and FNIS reads the new animations fine.


  • 0

#11 GrantSP

GrantSP

    The antipodean

  • Super Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,946 posts

Posted 04 August 2015 - 07:27 PM

May I ask how you are determining that this mod's animations aren't being seen by FNIS?

I've just installed it and all the animations are shown as loading into MO's VFS, thus they are available for the game and also FNIS.

 

When you have the new mod installed and active, you then run FNIS. The animations are scanned and added to the FNIS Creature mod. If you open that mod in MO via the 'Information' dialogue and examine the 'Filetree' tab you will see the animations are listed in a new folder called "werewolfbeast" by means of a TEMPLATE file. This is the same method used by FNIS for all creatures.

Therefore all the animations are now available for use by the game, so long as the FNIS Creature Pack mod, AND the new mod created from the "overwrite" are active.

In this case I named my new mod: "Werewolf Beast Pack" and when you examine the 'Data' tab to see the file structure used in game, you will see that 'defaultmale.hkx' now is supplied by this mod, as the werewolf animations are added to it along with the other creature animations that use it.



#12 criswolf09

criswolf09

    Prisoner

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 04 August 2015 - 08:02 PM

Would you post you FNIS log please? I am asking this question because I can tell FNIS is not reading MTE animations given that when the patcher is reading the behaviours the patcher in its section of Creature behaviours it doesnt' mention this sentence as it used to do: Create creature behaviour... Brevi's Moonlight Tales ?.?...


  • 0

#13 GrantSP

GrantSP

    The antipodean

  • Super Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,946 posts

Posted 04 August 2015 - 08:13 PM

When you say: "it used to do", do you mean outside of MO or with previous versions of MO/FNIS?

 

FNIS Log



#14 criswolf09

criswolf09

    Prisoner

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 04 August 2015 - 10:31 PM

Here's this FNIS log which I ran from MO, you'll see there are NSFW mods here but don't pay attention to them. If you look in the Create Creature Behaviours section of the log, it used to appear there these sentence "Brevi's Moonlight Tales Essentials ?.?" when I had the mod installed and ticked in MO.... but now it doesnt appear anymore.
 
FNIS Behavior V5.5 fix1   05/08/2015 12:24:31 a.m.
Skyrim: 1.9.32.0 - D:\Steam\steamapps\common\Skyrim\ (Steam)
 
Skeleton(hkx) female: Default (99 bones)   male: Default (99 bones)
Patch: "GENDER Specific Animations" 
Patch: "SKELETON Arm Fix" 
 
Reading DeviousDevices V2.9.0 ...
Reading FNISBase V5.5 ...
Reading FNISCreatureVersion V5.3 ...
Reading MNC V?.? ...
Reading NonSexLabAnimationPack V2.7c ...
Reading SexLab V1.59c ...
Reading SexLabCreature V1.59c ...
Reading ZaZAnimationPack V6.07  ( 26 furniture, 29 offset, 0 paired, 0 kill, 0 chair, 0 alternate animations) ...
 
All Anim Lists scanned. Generating Behavior Files....
 12 GENDER modifications for Animations\male
 1 GENDER modifications for Animations\female
Generating animationsetdatasinglefile.txt ...
 
Create Creature Behaviors ...
Reading MNC V?.? ...
Reading SexLabCreature V1.59c ...
mt_behavior usage: 19,9 %   ( 0 furniture, 29 offset, 0 chair, 0 alternate animations)
 
 2724 animations for 8 mods successfully included (character)
 667 animations for 2 mods and 22 creatures successfully included.

  • 0

#15 GrantSP

GrantSP

    The antipodean

  • Super Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,946 posts

Posted 05 August 2015 - 12:27 AM

So if you use an older version of FNIS does the mod get listed in the window?





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: fnis, setup, issues, installation

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users