Jump to content


Photo

Fallout 4 Default Values for All Valid INI Settings

fallout4

  • Please log in to reply
44 replies to this topic

#1 DoubleYou

DoubleYou

    Wiki Stepper

  • Super Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,467 posts

Posted 10 November 2015 - 02:29 PM

Fallout 4 Default Values for All Valid INI Settings

If it's not here, the tweak is most likely bogus, if it follows the same pattern as in previous games. Also note that there is a FalloutCustom.ini that is believed to function the same way SkyrimCustom.ini did in Skyrim. Plugin INIs appear to behave the same as well in initial testing. The in-game settings menu "default" values are different from these (Bethesda has given three different definitions of default in Fallout 4, all contradicting each other. I have settled for the same definition used in Skyrim, i.e., the value used when the setting is not explicitly stated in the INI files.)

Do NOT use these as your INI files. This is for reference only at this point.
 
Fallout.ini


 
 
FalloutPrefs.ini


Edited by DoubleYou, 11 July 2016 - 10:50 AM.
Updated to official 1.6.3.0 patch


#2 EssArrBee

EssArrBee

    Incompatibilism Manager

  • STEP Staff
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,721 posts

Posted 10 November 2015 - 05:36 PM

Good, now we can figure out the 3rd person camera settings. Why do devs keep giving us that stupid over the shoulder mod and not the overhead that everyone wants? Every game a modder comes along and changes and everyone uses it. 



#3 DoubleYou

DoubleYou

    Wiki Stepper

  • Super Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,467 posts

Posted 13 November 2015 - 12:00 PM

Just in case anyone was wondering...

 

Toggle Screenshots

 

Skyrim.ini

[Display]
bScreenshotToFile=0

0 is off. 1 is on. Default is 1. Screenshots use Printscreen key. Screenshots are saved in PNG format to the game directory, unless you change that using the same setting used in Skyrim... probably.

 

I'll leave you guys to figure out what this setting probably does... haven't tested it, but it looks obvious.

[Display]
bScreenshotToClipboard=0


#4 DoubleYou

DoubleYou

    Wiki Stepper

  • Super Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,467 posts

Posted 13 November 2015 - 12:57 PM

Just in case anybody was buying some of the horrible INI tweaks being thrown around the net...

  • bMouseAcceleration is a bogus setting
  • Don't use that magic fps tweak being popularized on reddit
  • The salt and vinegar chips was a joke


#5 Kesta

Kesta

    Thane

  • Mod Authors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 471 posts

Posted 13 November 2015 - 01:15 PM

Note that despite being "valid", bDisableGearedUp=X currently have no impacts in game (tested it, hopping to be able to see sheathed weapons like in Skyrim...).

 

Note that if it is identical to how it worked in Skyrim, sheathed weapons need to have a node assigned to be displayed, so with some skeletons edits and proper meshes, the setting might become unsefull with mods... but for now, it's just a placebo.

 

BTW, how did you get the values for the *prefs.ini file ? I know of the saveini command to get the fallout4.ini, but nothing to grab the *prefs.ini


  • 0

#6 DoubleYou

DoubleYou

    Wiki Stepper

  • Super Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,467 posts

Posted 13 November 2015 - 08:09 PM

saveini works for the prefs file when you have FalloutPrefs.ini blank in Fallout 4. This behavior is the same as Skyrim, but did not happen with some of the older games.



#7 Kesta

Kesta

    Thane

  • Mod Authors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 471 posts

Posted 14 November 2015 - 01:53 AM

Aah, thx :)

 

What about those settings beginning with a "c" ? Cardinal ? I've never seen such prefix before.

 

Also, any insight on the difference between "s" and "str" ? "str" seems to be a path. Also IIRC, "s" settings for Skyrim used to need quotation marks in order to handle blankspace, which doesn't seem to be the case anymore (correct me if I'm wrong).


  • 0

#8 DoubleYou

DoubleYou

    Wiki Stepper

  • Super Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,467 posts

Posted 14 November 2015 - 02:21 AM

s and str are the same, no differences. Quotes are not necessary to all strings. C-prefix is new and takes an integer value, but I am not sure if there is not some other significance to it.

#9 DoubleYou

DoubleYou

    Wiki Stepper

  • Super Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,467 posts

Posted 14 November 2015 - 01:32 PM

It seems there are some experimental multithreaded rendering settings included:

 

Fallout4.ini

[Display]
bMultiThreadedRendering=0
bMultiThreadedRenderingDFL=0
bMultiThreadedRenderingFWD=0
bMultiThreadedRenderingPPLD=0
bMultiThreadedRenderingPPM=0
bMultiThreadedRenderingUNP=1

bMultiThreadedRendering toggles any or all of the bMultiThreadedRendering- settings, which is disabled by default. Testing each of these out, I found the following:

 

bMultiThreadedRenderingDFL disables a bunch of objects, improving performance tremendously, but making the game unplayable simply because you can't see much.

 

bMultiThreadedRenderingFWD disables, at a minimum, all the glass panes in the windows. It probably disables other effects, but that was all I noticed. It comes with a slight performance increase, but invariably is a buggy setting.

 

bMultiThreadedRenderingPPLD causes weird flashing of the lights, which is unbearable.

 

bMultiThreadedRenderingPPM kills the game. You can't move, and everything is all graphically messed up.

 

bMultiThreadedRenderingUNP seems to be the only one that doesn't cause buggy graphics. I can't see a performance improvement, however, so it might just be internally disabled.

 

So, if there is any performance improvement available by means of this discussion (which remains to be found), it will be with this setting (since bMultiThreadedRenderingUNP  is set to 1 by default):

 

Fallout4.ini

[Display]
bMultiThreadedRendering=1

Please experiment and see if this doesn't cause issues or improve performance somehow.



#10 DoubleYou

DoubleYou

    Wiki Stepper

  • Super Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,467 posts

Posted 23 November 2015 - 02:41 AM

In case you didn't know...

 

Fallout Launcher does have a section where you can manipulate load order in it like it did in Skyrim, Oblivion, Fallout 3, and Fallout New Vegas.

 

It just isn't labeled.

 

Add the following to Fallout4Prefs.ini

[Launcher]
bEnableFileSelection=1

Then click around the bar near the guy's left eye, right about where the smiley and the wink are located on this emoticon (in the launcher, not here!). :;):



#11 Kesta

Kesta

    Thane

  • Mod Authors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 471 posts

Posted 24 November 2015 - 03:12 AM

Note that this isn't true anymore with the Beta version, as this one ignore the bEnableFileSelection setting.


  • 1

#12 DoubleYou

DoubleYou

    Wiki Stepper

  • Super Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,467 posts

Posted 24 November 2015 - 04:53 AM

Man, that's not nice!



#13 InsanePlumber

InsanePlumber

    Prisoner

  • Mod Authors
  • 16 posts

Posted 30 November 2015 - 04:52 PM

@DoubleYou

 

It is a pity that I have not found your Default INI for FO3, FO4, FNV, SKY earlier that it saved me a LOT of "fun".

Will you do the same with fINIp 4 as for spINI ? (GUI)


Edited by InsanePlumber, 30 November 2015 - 06:19 PM.

  • 1

#14 Kesta

Kesta

    Thane

  • Mod Authors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 471 posts

Posted 30 November 2015 - 06:11 PM

So we can somehow assume that they moved the setting to Fallout4.ini, or made it multi-ini valid ? That's awesome. Thx for finding this out, sounds like i'll finally move up to the Beta :3

 

Btw, i'm linking your afk mod post here, as I find it really awesome : http://afkmods.iguan...l-ini-settings/

 

(And DY might be intereseted to have a look at your other findings/recommandations).

 

 

Edit : Just re-reading your post... fallout4custom.ini overwrite settings from both fallout4.ini and fallout4prefs.ini ? I always assumed the "custom" could only overwrite settings from falout4.ini, not from the "pref". At least in previous game, I didn't even bother to try with FO4.

 

Edit2 : Why is everything gone ? :'( 


Edited by Kesta, 30 November 2015 - 06:25 PM.

  • 0

#15 InsanePlumber

InsanePlumber

    Prisoner

  • Mod Authors
  • 16 posts

Posted 30 November 2015 - 07:33 PM

Btw, i'm linking your afk mod post here

 

Thank you.

 

Post is now under re-construction.
So there may be errors, and will not be neat.
I would recommend reading as somewhere for ~two hours.


  • 0



Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: fallout4

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users