[SOLVED] mods have unrecognized TES4 header versions?

nex

hey guys, first time poster, brand new to modding

i've been trying to follow Kelmych's project to learn how to mod. i've been watching and reading the guides he linked in each section but i ran into an error that i can't figure out when i started Wrye Flash for the first time:

HC7ZaHS.png

i've done some googling and looked through old threads but i can't find any comprehensive answer to what this means and how i should deal with it

i'm also a little confused about the terminology being used on the Wyre Flash because I keep seeing differing names such as: Wrye Bash, Wrye Smash, Wrye Mash, etc.

am I correct in assuming that these differing terms are similar to how xEdit is described? Different versions of similar programs for specific games (with Wrye Flash being the Fallout version)?

thanks in advance and please bear with me if these questions are noob bs. like i mentioned, i'm brand new to this and i stepped into this world about 6 hours ago

Edited by nex

Wrye Bash is a program developed originally by Wrye for the Elder Scrolls games. The current version can be used for Elder Scrolls Games, and there is an experimental version for Fallout 4. Wrye Flash is a variant that is used with Fallout 3 and Fallout NV; eventually Wrye Flash won't be needed since the Fallout capabilities will be added to Wrye Bash. "Wrye Bash" is usually used when talking about the collection of these tools; note that Wrye Bash and Wrye Flash currently have similar but not exactly identical capabilities for each game (unlike xEdit). Mator Smash is a new tool being developed by Mator which will potentially replace the use of Wrye Bash/Flash for creating the equivalent of a bashed patch. There is no Wrye Smash.

Did you use Wrye Flash to create the bashed patch? For FO3 you should use the Fallout 3 Wrye Flash with Fallout 3, not Wrye Bash.

thanks for your reply, i appreciate the clarification