Bash Tags for custom-made patch plugin

baronaatista

Question

Okay so I'm new to this deeper side of modding, still learning how to more fully and properly use the tools.

I have a pretty crazy install (essentially a Dreadflopps install (STEP: Extended + SRLE + SRLE Extended + Dreadflopps packs + my own additions)).

I wanted to add Better Unique Items to this, so I made a patch (I think, lol) in TESVEdit - I loaded all my plugins, expanded BUI, and 'copied as overwrite into' all relevant changes from other plugins - AOS, CCOR/WAF, MLU, SIC/RoTE, Unique Uniques. I think. Pretty sure I got that part right. The mod does contain records for a vanilla NPC, which I why I'm carrying records from SIC/RoTE....

Anyway when I make the bashed patch, it seems to overwrite my plugin completely and only carry forward certain changes... As a matter of fact, while I didn't check all that thoroughly, it seems to only carry forward records from one plugin, and doesn't merge any records, which I found odd.

I'm assuming I need to add Bash Tags? I have some knowledge of what they do (checked Wrye Bash advanced guide/readme) but almost none as to their actual implementation... I also read somewhere that only certain tags work for Skyrim? I would guess to carry forward changes to these weapons/armor - Names, Stats, Invent, possibly some AI tags for the NPC?

Any help, even if just to point to information (other than the Wrye Bash readme) would be greatly appreciated.

5 answers to this question