The purpose of Overwrite is...?

Seeker17281

Question

Hi

A sincere apology in advance to anyone who is going to wade through this post.  First let me say that I appreciate you taking the time to make sense of my babble and were we in each other's physical company I'd buy you a coffee and donut just for the effort.  Secondly I'm being thick here, I'm normally reasonably quick on the uptake, but this overwrite for some reason just doesn't click with me and is tossing all kinds of anxiety triggers my way.  I'm hoping some wise soul here can crack through my duncery and give me an aha.   :woot:

I'm new to MO2 and though I've come to see it's potential, there have been some growing pains I've clawed my way through.  I'm of middling modding experience, mostly with NMM, Wyre Bash and OBMM.  But while I like what I see in MO2,  I'm having a really tough time wrapping my head around this darn Overwrite folder.  I've read about an even dozen posts of what it does from various sites and I still don't understand how to properly use it.  In addition, many of the tuts and videos I've found pertain to MO1 and while there are no doubt similarities, because this unfamiliar ground if the dots aren't in a direct line I don't see the relevance.

I'm following the TUCO guide and so far I've gotten to the point where I have installed the utilities, cleaned the base esms, have SKSE running and up to the first 5 created  mods installed before creating my first bashed patch.  During all this in my MO2's window there are 4 greyed out  mods with red X's saying  :bleh:  These are the cleaned ESMs from Update->Dragonborn cleaned in SSEEdit.  When the first one landed in overwrite I went looking for what to do, finding a post that said to make a mod out of them, drag them into the mod list, done.  But the end result is they're faded and have big fat red Xs!  :confusion: