Jump to content


Photo

Is there any way to save a plugin without having to exit


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 MKIIV

MKIIV

    Prisoner

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 02 May 2019 - 05:48 AM

xedit. I could have sworn it used to do this. i keep saving and then going in game to see my changes and forgetting i have to exit xedit so it unloads the temp save it makes, but it sucks to have to do that all the time. i though the backup plugins check mark used to make it save directly if you didn't have it checked.


  • 0

#2 zilav

zilav

    Thane

  • Mod Authors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 365 posts

Posted 02 May 2019 - 11:44 PM

Ctrl+S


  • 0

#3 MKIIV

MKIIV

    Prisoner

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 03 May 2019 - 03:54 AM

That's what i thought and but it it's not working like that. It saves it to a temp timestamped file when pressing Ctrl+S the same as using the drop down menu save. Also in the log it only reports it is saving to a temp/timestamped file and the timestamped file is in my data folder. I just did it 3 times to be sure i'm not tripping and i have 3 temp timestamped temp files in my data folder ( not backups in backup folder), and my original esp modified time is not updated. Then i read step guide as i was sure i always did it like that before, and it basically confused me more because just how the sentence seems to be written is what is actually happening.

 

"Using Ctrl  + S   will save the work done during a session without exiting xEdit. This is useful for long sessions.Saving won't actually save the plugin with it's modification, but create a "backup" of the plugin with the changes, following the same convention as the backups created when exiting with the "create backup" checkbox ticked."

 

Second part "saving won't actually" sounds like that they are still talking about ctrl+s the entire section. But now i see it's in two parts. Thing is how i interpreted it is exactly what is happening on my end. Crtl+S saves exactly the same way as if i pressed the save from the drop down, or pressed the close button and saved then. They all save to a timestamped temp file and only when i unload the program does it actually merge to my esp. That's why i was confused and asking, i thought maybe it was a change in a newer version and now required a switch or something. At any rate it doesn't work like that on my end. I'm using 4.0.2


Edited by MKIIV, 03 May 2019 - 03:56 AM.

  • 0

#4 zilav

zilav

    Thane

  • Mod Authors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 365 posts

Posted 04 May 2019 - 01:30 AM

Start xEdit with -AllowDirectSaves command line parameter


  • 1

#5 MKIIV

MKIIV

    Prisoner

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 04 May 2019 - 02:36 PM

Start xEdit with -AllowDirectSaves command line parameter

Thanks!


  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users