DDSopt - General Runtime for optimization?

Holymartyr

Question

Just started running DDSopt from the Wiki, and just got to the point where it is optimizing everything.

Anyone have an idea on how long it will take? DDSopt is estimating a full 24 hours ATM

I have a AMD Tri Core 3.5GHz OC (Phenom II X3 720 Black Edition) and 4GB of 1333 MHz DDR3 Ram.

Seems a bit long imo, but I've never done this before. Any feedback appreciated =)

Uhm.

Yikes - very confused now.

I followed the guide exactly. Got to this point.

DDSopt Optimization

• Beside the "Vanilla Extracted" directory created in step 1 of the preceding section, create a directory called "Vanilla Optimized" to serve as the current working directory.
  • Launch DDSopt if it is not already running, and--unless you are experimenting--ensure that the application is configured according to the preceding screenshots.
  • As the source folder, choose the previously-created "Vanilla Extracted" directory as the current source and the newly-created "Vanilla Optimized" directory as the current destination.

NOTE: The textures\interface\books\ directory of the STD vanilla textures contains many PNG files that do not need to be processed. Use the filter in the center of the Browser Tab to type in a "*.png" wildcard, then click the [Apply] button, unselect the files, remove the "*.png" wildcard filter, and click [Apply] again. This will ensure that the PNG files will not be processed into DDS file type. Furthermore, these files will be copied to the destination unaltered, because [ignore] > [Copy unprocessed and ignored files (passthrough)] option is ticked by default.

• Click [Process] to begin optimizing the textures from all three sources under "Vanilla Extracted" into corresponding locations under "Vanilla Optimized."