MO installed mods not being found

primem0ver

Question

This is my first time using MO and utilities are not recognizing anything but what is installed in the vanilla directory. I cannot get LOOT or TesVEdit to recognize any mods installed through MO. I have ONLY tried running them through MO. I cannot play skyrim until I get my mods working because this is a reinstall after an OS fail and my savegames use the mods I have installed with MO (which means I need to get TesVEdit working in order to combine a few like I had them before).

11 answers to this question

Ugh.  It didn't make a difference.  AHA!!  Yes it did.  I modified my original zip uninstall the first time accidentally.  So even if the folders are the same, it must use the original install path in order to work.

To make this more clear...

If you use ridirects, junctions, mapped drive folders etc... in your path you MUST use the exact same path it was originally installed too.  Even though c:\Program Files (x86)\Games\Steam\SteamApps\common\Skyrim and d:\Games\Steam\SteamApps\common\Skyrim are actually the same folder (on my computer), the path used in the ModOrganizer.ini file must be the same as the original install path.

Edited by primem0ver

In addition to my answer to your question in the Nexus forum, you must recognise that ANY tool that you want to use on your MO installed mods MUST ALSO be installed as an executable via MO.

MO uses a virtual file system and therefore the mods installed need to 'worked on' by tools that are aware of that VFS.

LOOT, Wrye Bash, TES5Edit or any other tool you want to use will only 'see' mods if they are run via the MO ui.

I said the following in the Nexus forum:

I am certain I did it right.  I clicked the Green Blue Gear button at the top (towards the left) and added it through the dialog you spoke of.  I followed the MO instructions on the LOOT video (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mzsb3hvbbr4) and the merge script video (