Win 8/8.1 + MO + 4 Gb = FAIL...this problem seriously needs to be addressed

Artfu1D0dger

Question

Yes I'm new to modding, not new to gaming or PC's; only mod i've ever added to a game before this was in Duke Nukem (the original xD)

I am one of the many that are returning with the latest NV Ultimate and starting to mod in the wake of all the hype for Fallout 4.

ok I am now at my wits end, and even the author of the 4 Gb program refuses to support Win 8, but the issue seems to be with Mod Organizer.  It wasn't until I had successfully installed a pile of mods (NVEC + PN + many others) and had them working perfectly when I got the 'out of memory' error.  It was at this time i found out that MO should not be starting the NV launcher when it runs the 4gb exe, which it always does for me.  I have tried everything, the optional arguments (setting the specific exe and steamappID), changing all kinds of permission settings (which i think is the actual issue), added game root directory to windows PATH variable, even reinstalled the whole game to my D:/ as per another thread's suggestion.  Nothing is working, it is of my opinion that the MO people should know how to fix this.  NVSEloader.exe works fine by itself and so does the 4gb exe, but for some reason MO can't launch this correctly.  Please useful information only, if someone gives me some response like I'm some newb I'm gonna be pissed, please keep in mind I have scoured the net for answers to this.  Lots of people with this issue and no fix out there!!

I wanted to attach my log file but can't figure out how, so here's the relevant part, it loads FalloutNV.exe, then creates FalloutMO.exe, then for some reason it loads the launcher and does the same thing with it...

DEBUG (10:15:34.0145): get file attributes: C:\Users\Eleutherian\Documents\My Games\FalloutNV\FALLOUT.INI -> D:\SteamLibrary\steamapps\common\Fallout New Vegas\ModOrganizer\profiles\Default\FALLOUT.INI: 21