Jump to content


Photo

[BUG] Strange Camera Glitch During Intro Sequence


Best Answer thelordcaptain , 12 February 2016 - 12:40 AM

I just removed, redownloaded, and reinstalled XP32 according to the suggested settings, then ticked the XP32 mod. Then I loaded an autosave (just after char creation) and everything was fine. 100%.

 

Let me run the entire intro just to be 100% sure but it looks like this entire issue was caused by an error in either my initial download or my initial install.

 

Edit: One carriage ride later... all's well and good. Thank you for your help, everyone.

Go to the full post


  • Please log in to reply
41 replies to this topic

#1 thelordcaptain

thelordcaptain

    Prisoner

  • Members
  • 19 posts

Posted 30 January 2016 - 10:26 AM

Hey guys.

 

So I have searched around some. Didn't find any answer to this issue, so it's seemingly time to post.

 

Before I begin -- I'm only partially through STEP right now. I discovered this issue whilst attempting to benchmark between 2.F & 2.G. There is a possibility that I introduced this after installing 2.F, but it's also possible that I just forgot to benchmark at that point. Also, I'm using "Mod Organizer" and LOOT to install STEP with.

 

When the intro sequence loads, I find my viewpoint to be staring at the horse that's pulling the carriage my character should spawn in. If I rotate the view, I can see the underside of the aforementioned cart. Obviously, this is something of a problem.

 

Please let me know if you have any suggestions, or need any additional data. And thank you in advance.


  • 0

#2 phazer11

phazer11

    Chatroom Supervisor

  • Super Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,288 posts

Posted 30 January 2016 - 11:04 PM

It does not stay stuck seeing the underside of the carriage correct? If not then there' nothing wrong other than the intro, which is already known.



#3 thelordcaptain

thelordcaptain

    Prisoner

  • Members
  • 19 posts

Posted 31 January 2016 - 09:04 AM

Confirmed that camera issues remain after the carriage ride. Also, that moving makes the camera swing wildly.

 

Edit: For clarity's sake, the camera doesn't "stay stuck" but it does stay "low" compared to my character.


Edited by thelordcaptain, 31 January 2016 - 09:05 AM.

  • 0

#4 TechAngel85

TechAngel85

    Akatosh

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12,623 posts

Posted 31 January 2016 - 10:43 AM

Remove Enhanced Camera and check to see if the problem goes away.

#5 thelordcaptain

thelordcaptain

    Prisoner

  • Members
  • 19 posts

Posted 31 January 2016 - 11:08 AM

Actually, Akatosh, I'm not there yet. Enhanced Camera is under 2.J, and I'm just between 2.F & 2.G as mentioned above.


  • 0

#6 Greg

Greg

    Dragon Prince

  • Super Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,024 posts

Posted 31 January 2016 - 12:05 PM

I don't see anything in 2.F or 2.G that might cause this issue since these are mostly meshes and textures. The only things I can think of that might cause this issue are bad settings in the ini files or perhaps (although I think unlikely) XP32 Maximum Skeleton in 2.D. Fixes.



#7 TechAngel85

TechAngel85

    Akatosh

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12,623 posts

Posted 31 January 2016 - 12:11 PM

Then you have an INI setting off that is changing the camera position.

#8 thelordcaptain

thelordcaptain

    Prisoner

  • Members
  • 19 posts

Posted 31 January 2016 - 12:47 PM

If it's INI, where would I have the issue specifically?


  • 0

#9 DoubleYou

DoubleYou

    Wiki Stepper

  • Super Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,625 posts

Posted 31 January 2016 - 12:55 PM

Skyrim.ini
[Camera]



#10 Greg

Greg

    Dragon Prince

  • Super Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,024 posts

Posted 31 January 2016 - 01:06 PM

If it helps, this is my [Camera] section in skyrim.ini. Note that all the settings except fMouseWheelZoomSpeed are defaulted to the default settings.

[Camera]
fMouseWheelZoomSpeed=10


#11 thelordcaptain

thelordcaptain

    Prisoner

  • Members
  • 19 posts

Posted 31 January 2016 - 01:45 PM

Here's the entirety of that section:

 

[Camera]

 

fMouseWheelZoomSpeed=10

 

I don't see how the mouse wheel zoom speed could affect this? Am I wrong?
 


Edited by thelordcaptain, 31 January 2016 - 05:02 PM.

  • 0

#12 DoubleYou

DoubleYou

    Wiki Stepper

  • Super Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,625 posts

Posted 31 January 2016 - 09:45 PM

No, that won't affect that.

 

Try running FNIS.



#13 thelordcaptain

thelordcaptain

    Prisoner

  • Members
  • 19 posts

Posted 01 February 2016 - 03:13 AM

Ok, FNIS installed including it's odd little utility. Will update after testing, which will happen as soon as the aMidianBorn Whiterun mod has d/l'ed. My connection is a bit crap, so that could take a few minutes.

 

Update: So after life interrupted (naturally), I finally got back to testing this. FNIS has made zero difference whatsoever. My character viewpoint is still short -- even with a 1.1 tall character -- and when I am given control (at the dragon attack, of course) the camera swings wildly vertically at any attempted movement. This is really ******* weird. Anyway, I have some screenshots of the height part of the issue. Having a dual core CPU, I doubt I could get any useful footage of the wild vertical camera swinging.

 

https://www.dropbox...._00001.jpg?dl=0

https://www.dropbox...._00002.jpg?dl=0

https://www.dropbox...._00012.jpg?dl=0


Edited by thelordcaptain, 01 February 2016 - 07:54 AM.

  • 0

#14 thelordcaptain

thelordcaptain

    Prisoner

  • Members
  • 19 posts

Posted 02 February 2016 - 06:33 AM

Any help would be massively appreciated.


  • 0

#15 GrantSP

GrantSP

    The antipodean

  • Super Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,333 posts

Posted 02 February 2016 - 05:07 PM

Can you make a vanilla profile in MO and go through the carriage ride again with no mods installed? I have the exact opposite effect to you. My 'eye level' appears too high, IMO, even when I choose a small character I feel like I'm towering over the others.

 

Just for clarity could post your INIs here in spoiler tags so we can compare them. Make sure you use the correct ones from the active profile, not those in 'My Documents'.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users