Green Rectangle Cursor on Black Screen Startup error

baronaatista

Question

first off i'd just like to say i'm a complete newb here, never posted on these forums, and while i've been using mods for a couple years, and have done a couple different STEP installs, i'm very much a layman with this whole thing - i can use TESVEdit only because of these guides and the amazing videos from Michael of GamerPoets.  So please forgive my ignorance if i'm doing or saying anything stupid.

just finished a new setup of F&LNV - have no other mods installed whatsoever, though i didn't include the entire guide.  Specifically skipped weapons of the new millenia, all of the "new lands" and new quest mods, other than someguy series, also didn't include willow.  there might be a couple others i skipped - certainly not anything dependent on anything else that was skipped.

when i try to run the game through MO/4Glauncher, i get this black screen and my cursor is a fairly large green rectangle.  nothing else happens.  i can easily just alt tab out and close the program, no freezing my computer or anything.  

one time as i was messing around, I got an error message that said something about not being able to find steam_api.dll or something?  i checked and its there... did a little research and it was suggested this is a STEAM error, due to me having the game installed on my C drive in the program files(x86) folder? i just don't have another SSD, and haven't had issues with that in the past, despite the constant warnings on these and other guides.  it was suggested though that might be solved by running as administrator... ran MO as admin, same thing... then tried running just the 4Gig Launcher outside of MO, as administrator, and it pulls up the startup screen, but there is no text - i'm guessing because its not loading my mods, which are replacing the UI.  pretty sure i also tried to set admin privileges to the entire FNV folder, to no avail.